A vintage button lamp shade.

I was flicking through a copy of NZ House & Garden a few weeks ago  and this button lamp shade caught my eye.

I can’t decide if it’s me or not.

Should I have a go and making one of these.??.

Do I have the time?

I still have the rag rug project sitting in the corner of the lounge gathering dust….

desbonnets_bedroom_olive[1]

So…last weekend Mr F and I went back to Victorian Living in Windsor to buy a shade for the porch.  While we were hunting through the many shades available………

old pearly jenkins

old pearly jenkins

I spotted these frames for sale!

old pearly jenkins

I’ve got the buttons.  I’ve found the frames …

I’ve had the vintage buttons for over twenty years now.  I brought them from an estate sale.  I’d only have enough buttons to do a small shade though.

old pearly jenkins

I’ve had a look at ‘google images’ for  other button light shades but the pickings were slim.

imagesCAGQVM7L button-shade-closeup[1]

4017065003_c78cc25b2f_n[1]

Are they just tacky?

11 thoughts on “A vintage button lamp shade.

  1. I think it would be a great project! I had found the cut glass lamp on Pinterest a while back. I wanted to try out this idea myself. Like VFG SAYS: “Go for it” – I’d love to see how it turns out.

  2. I really like the button lamp on the first photo. Looks like a big project. What if you sewed the buttons onto a fabric and used that to cover the lamp shade?
    Cute idea.

  3. letouzel says:

    Hello, thank you for dropping by my blog and liking my posts. I love your blog and will check in more often :)

    • I agree completely. I think this project will have to wait a little longer. I’m doing some really long days at work at the moment and just don’t have the energy to get creative. It seems like a long way a way but I’m planning on taking three weeks off over Christmas. That’s when I’ll have the time and energy.. I hope.

Leave a Reply

