A new/old standard lamp.

I’ve been looking for about a year now for a timber standard lamp base.  I’ve been on eBay and Gumtree, trawled op shops and secondhand shops but had no luck.

but…

Mr F was driving home from work this week and found it sitting out for the kerbside collection.  Woo hoo!!.

I wish I’d managed to take a photo of it before he started attacking it.  It had two bendy lamps  like tentacles coming out of the top.

SAMSUNG

I sanded all the varnish off and gave it an undercoat.

SAMSUNG

The colour I’ve used is called Marquise – Taubmans.

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

The velvet shade came from Freedom about five years ago.  I’m not 100% sure about the shade yet.  I’m thinking it might not be big enough.  I’d appreciate any thoughts.  should I add some pom-pom trim?  .

untitled

Or am I going overboard with the pom-pom thing??  as the blinds and Beryl the Cockatoo lamp have them.

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

2 thoughts on “A new/old standard lamp.

Leave a Reply

