Mirrors.

So… I couldn’t get that other mirror out of my mind.  I kept seeing it painted a beautiful red and hanging near the front door.  I had to go back and buy it.  It’s supposedly Tasmanian   from the 1890s.

We’ve always wanted a hall stand with a seat and mirror but we’ve never seen one that wasn’t going to cost us ‘an arm and a leg’ to have it transported from another state here in Australia.  For example this is for sale on Gumtree, listed as  Antique  Edwardian Queensland Maple stand. It’s in Sydney……we’re in Brisbane!!!!!!

25147g8_20

Until we find one we will hang this mirror by the door and below it will be this long padded bench seat.  Add a few baskets for shoes and it will be just as good.

old pearly jenkins

I saw this for sale at Woolloongabba Antiques Centre when I was buying the mirror.  It’s not my ‘cup of tea’ but I love the colour.  On closer inspection the label said it was Italian and for sale at $245.00.  Any thoughts???

SAMSUNG

9 thoughts on “Mirrors.

  1. wow i think that will look fab at the doorway… the fabric on the seat is beautiful !!! love it 🙂 the horse lamp… hmm no comment as I have never seen before, but there is a designer lamp which is a horse (not a big fan of it myself either, but the colour is very pretty’ emerald green… i love that store)

    • We brought the bench seat last year for $199.00 at Far Pavillions, Logan Road. We’d orignally purchased a ‘wing chair’ + footstool in the same fabric but had to wait months for the shipment to come. (made in China). so settled for the seat instead. I think you can still buy them, as they were incredibly popular.

  2. I’ve seen a Hall Stand similar to that one somewhere recently – it would have to be either WAC or the old Antique Furniture Store (on the left hand side) in the middle of Woodford, pretty sure it was at WAC. I remember because it was like my Grandparents, with the Umbrella stands either side. The horse lamp is very interesting lol.

Leave a Reply

