Lighting ideas for the bathroom.

I’ve been trying to find examples of lights that people have used in older style bathrooms.  I really like the idea of using another pendant light similar to the one in the hall  but I’m worried that the rod will go rusty.

old pearly jenkins

Below is the only image I’ve been able to find so far, of a pendant light on a rod has been used in a bathroom.

bath%20from%20design%20sponge

This light (on the left) is hanging in the stairwell at my parents house.  I like this idea it but I’m wondering if this style is too modern for this particular bathroom.  Will this look date quickly too?

old pearly jenkins9121714c0e480908_0106-w548-h486-b0-p0--contemporary-pendant-lighting

9411f3060e329209_6468-w268-h486-b1-p10--modern-pendant-lightingpe08004_thumb2-01

The idea of having two wall lights either side of the basin seems to be popular.  I just don’t know.  Help!!

183133_0_8-8874-traditional-bathroomimagesCAUY2BZL

Mean while we’ve been working away at the ceiling and walls of the bathroom.  There is still so much to do before the fun stuff starts like painting the walls and laying the floor tiles.  I’ve spent most of the day scraping and sanding the bathroom window and I broke one of the panes!!! sooo annoying!!!

Mr F has been working hard to undercoat and paint the bathroom door.  His sister is coming  from New Zealand to stay with us for a week (arriving tomorrow) and we’re sure she’d prefer a door rather than the sheet we’ve been using.

9 thoughts on “Lighting ideas for the bathroom.

  1. I have to say that I really do like the idea of a pendant light in the bathroom. I had considered this as well when I worked on my bathroom. I finally chose a close to the ceiling light fixture that had a built-in exhaust fan. I guess you could say practicality and need for ventilation won out! Although not my heart’s true desire, the style is not so modern that it stands out, and the milk glass shade helps it blend in with the rest of the house.

    I had also thought about having a pair of wall sconce lights for the sink area. Because the room is rather small…just 8 feet x 12 feet…I thought that would be a little too much, expecially since the bathroom window is rather large and lets in plenty of morning sunlight as it is.

    By the way, one type of pendant light that I really want to use when I find the right place is the kind with a counterweight which lets you adjust it up and down. These just look really cool and fun! Restoration Hardware has a few that you might take a look at.

    I guess my main suggestion would be to consider ventilation for removal of excess moisture and typical bathroom smells. Best wishes!

    • Thank you for your help. In the first house I owned (with an Ex). We had a beautifully restored brass retractable light. It had originally been in a dentist’s room. I always regret not taking that light with me when we sold….(the Ex and I went seperate ways).
      There is an existing vent.. above the toilet. ha ha!!!

  2. Mrs. P says:

    I like the pendant light in the first picture. You can slow down the rust by putting a silicon base polish on the rod. Spray it on a rag and then wipe the rod. The stuff used to shine stainless works fine. It will have to be maintained, I’d say about every 3-4 months in humid climates but if a small amount of rust does appear a product called Bar Keeper’s Friend removes this easily, just use very little water to avoid dripping down the rod and getting into the electrical components, then wipe with clean damp cloth. Once it has dried, reapply silicon base product.

    • Thanks for your help. I think we will buy another pendant light.!!!
      I will definitely look for a silicon based polish next time I’m at the supermarket. I’ve never heard of ‘Bar Keeper’s Friend’.

      • Mrs. P says:

        Bar Keeper’s Friend comes in a container that looks like Comet. It is a powder but they have recently made it in a liquid paste form like Soft Scrub which is much easier to use. You don;t need to use very much. Good luck!

  3. Our home was built in 1970 and this teeny tiny half bathroom came with sconces on either side of the sink. When we renovated, we kept it the same. I really like the pendant lights, though. What color paint will you use? Good luck!

  4. The Bungalow Blog says:

    We put a pendant in the guest 1/2 bath and it looks fab. We then put a modified pendant in our new, expanded master bath.

    It’s bronze with four hanging lights and we have no fears about rusting…the new exhaust fan should do the job. Nice blog by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

