The mirror is finished!

old pearly jenkins

I’ve finally finished painting the mirror I brought a few months ago.  It did take a couple of different pots of paint to get the colour right.  I ended up buying a pre -mixed pot of ‘cherry red’.

SAMSUNG

old pearly jenkins

I’m going to use the paint I didn’t use on the mirror to paint the legs of the bench seat.  So the pot of paint won’t go to waste.  Some people may think I’m CRAZY!!! painting over this Victorian mirror. Many years ago I wouldn’t have dreamt of doing such a thing.  I’ve spent
countless hours over the years stripping back furniture to reveal the timber.  Maybe I’ll regret doing it one day, maybe not.

old pearly jenkins

7 thoughts on “The mirror is finished!

  1. carolinelarnach says:

    It looks great! The chair that its sitting on, is that the one you are also thinking of painting? They’d look good together. I love the upholstery.

  2. Mrs. P says:

    It looks beautiful but I have to admit that I wouldn’t have painted it. I happen to enjoy the original and love the patina that age gives it. On the other hand, I have no problem painting more modern (in time) pieces to create a similar effect.

    The main thing that counts is that you like it!

  3. I think it looks great in color. YLike you say, you can always strip it at a later date. Really like the bench seat, too. It gives me ideas 🙂
    ~Joanne

Leave a Reply

