The hunt for a front door.

I took a few days off this week as it’s the school holidays here to spend some time with the family but I still managed to squeeze in a bit of time to look for a front door.  I’ve been on the look out for so long now for a front door with a port-hole window.  When I make my regular visits to various building recyclers here in Brisbane they’ve never got them.

But on Wednesday my luck changed.  We went to a building recyclers at Northgate on Brisbane’s north side and they had two of them!!!

old pearly jenkinsold pearly jenkins

I loved the stained glass window but it needs work (plus don’t you think it looks kind of phallic? ..filthy mind??).  So We brought the white ‘windowless’ door.  The plan is to do something like this.

0051-image8-9_b

In the meantime we dropped it off to Earth safe John in Salisbury to be stripped.

Mr F would have preferred to buy a brand spanking new door that ‘looks old’ and I know the builders are going to be muttering under their breaths when they’re trying to hang it because it’s bound to be wonky or something but   I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

27 thoughts on “The hunt for a front door.

  1. Good choice-that’s the door I would have chosen, also. Hey, I never thought of the leaded glass in the other door as lookingg kind of phallic…uh…UNTIL you mentioned it!!!

  2. Nice door! I think the number idea is more original than the stained glass–even phallic stained glass.
    I thought I was following your blog, but I was only following a comment thread. Where’s your “follow” button??

  3. What gorgeous doors. I too never considered the phallic state, until you mentioned it!!! We are in the process of fixing up a new front door for our place. It’s nowhere near as gorgeous as yours but it is a verge collection freebie that we’ve made our own. I’ll feature it on my blog, when we get to hanging it in the next few days.

  4. Beautiful! I’d love a new front door with glass to let some light in. I think a transom might be the way to go just like your pic. Can’t wait to see it hung & looking fab

  5. I’m excited for you! I love it when I’ve been waiting and searching for something in particular and then I finally find it!! What a great door. And yes, the stain glass one looks phallic. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t want a penis on my front door!! 😉

    • Ha ha!!! finally someone is on the same page as me. I’m happy to find it too but it will be a while before we see it in place. I really want to paint the door a deep pink but the husband’s not so keen.

      • Ah ha! Pink, eh? We painted our front door a rich red – we had to mix the paint ourselves so as not to be too orange or cherry. Glossy. Yum. Make sure it’s true oil paint – the stuff they pass off as oil paint now is pretty hideous (guess who’s the painter in our house!)

  6. Am I under-exposed? Living in the wrong country? I have never seen porthole doors! Both are beautiful, but the one you chose is most beautiful and provides so many options for your future plans. What a find- love it!

  7. Great choice! Hold on tight to your dreams. If you want the “wonky” door, get the “wonky” door. You’re builders will figure it out. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’ll try to keep it interesting, so stop back again sometime. We’re miles apart in geography but kindred spirits in renovation.

  8. Sharon says:

    It will look great! Can’t wait to see how it turns out. Really appreciate all the trouble you have gone to putting names of different companies/tradies locally.Sometimes I manage to pick dodgie ones 😦 Are you going to stencil the number yourself/use those motif type things? Sorry, so many questions – just love knowing all the details:)

    • Thank you Sharon. Over the years we’ve had our fair share of dodgy tradies and when you actually find one that is good it’s worth sharing.
      I’m actually looking for a local company to produce a really large ‘sticker’ for the window. I still haven’t found the right font and border. What I like about this idea is that when you get tired of it you can change it.

  9. I’m with you all the way! My front door is a period style reproduction made of mahogany, so I’m keeping it, but after I found a matched set of antique interior doors I gleefully took a circular saw to the newish doors that had been installed upstairs.

Leave a Reply

