A lamp shade and a Koala

Before we left our house I grabbed a few projects that I’d like to find the time to do.  One is  to find some fabric  to recover a lamp shade to go with the pink lamp base I’d painted earlier this year.  The turquoise shade  developed a mysterious  large dent.  hmmmm….boys?

old pearly jenkins

I’ve brought a very cheap lamp shade from Bunnings, cut out a template from butchers paper, brought the adhesive spray, watched some YouTube videos and now I’m on the hunt for some suitable  fabric.

old pearly jenkins

I’ve seen some gorgeous lamp shades …..

mSqU2_kowjvq7XUAgbtN3nQcharismamidnight__93845_1376071225_220_290

1329298217

I have fallen in love with this owl lamp shade.  The website Little Treasures that I found this shade on is worth checking out.  They have several other designs and they’re all equally as lovely.

I’m still on the hunt for fabric that I like.  I have visited many different online fabric stores and came across one that has some brilliant fabrics.  It turns out the business is here in Brisbane.  It’s called Voodoo Rabbit and is on Stanley Street, East Brisbane.

PWTP037_Acacia_Racoon_Canyon_02

Acacia Racoons Canyon by Free Spirit

voodoo rabbit

A Ghastlie Night Mold Green by Alexander Henry

7605B_AGhastlieGallery_Smoke_03

A Ghastlie Gallery Smoke by Alexander Henry

I recently bought a chocolate-brown and  rather battered , plaster Koala from The Cottage Garden Nursery at East Brisbane.  I’ve left it at my parent’s house and my lovely mother has started to sand it down.  I’ve been perusing the spray can aisle at Bunnings for a colour.

old pearly jenkins

Any suggestions?

5 thoughts on “A lamp shade and a Koala

  1. I think mustardy yellow for the koala. Have you looked at fabric traders.com.au- they are also Brisbane based and have a huge range. I stumbled across Voodoo rabbit too recently, they have some great oilcloth too. mel x

    • I really love the idea of yellow. I couldn’t see anything at Fabric Traders that I liked. I really like this fabric ( I really hope this image/link works) but its quite expensive.

      Harlequin Delphine Fabrics.

Leave a Reply

