Fabric for the downstairs windows.

For the past year or so I’ve had my heart set on using some beautiful fabric that I saw hanging in the window of Brisbane Fabric Market, East Brisbane. The fabric is called Harlequin Delphine.

PicMonkey Collage

But… for $128 AUD a metre and we needed 20 metres!!!! it just wasn’t an option.  I’ve spent the past few months looking for something special.  I was looking for something fun, fresh and colourful but not too twee!

Wow wee, I’ve found some great fabrics but when I showed them to the family I received funny looks.

old pearly jenkins

In the end I remembered that I had some odd bits of fabric that I’ve bought at op shops over the years sitting  in a box in the wardrobe.  It was exciting to dig through and I discovered that I had over seven metres of the fabric below.

old pearly jenkinsold pearly jenkins

Please excuse the poor quality of the photo.  I believe the fabric is Barkcloth but I haven’t got a clue how old it would be.  Anyway… I thought it would make perfect roman blinds for the kitchen, dining and lounge area.  Mr F liked it but it was a little harder to convince my mother, who would be making the blinds for us.

old pearly jenkinsold pearly jenkins

We’re really happy with them and now that they’re up I think that they’ve got the ‘seal of approval’ from mum.  I’m also really happy because of the money we’ve been able to save.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Fabric for the downstairs windows.

  1. I love barkcloth! I think this pattern could be from the 1960s … the way the roses are drawn and the white rectangles placed behind them. What do you think? Looks really cute sewn up! I also absolutely love the Harlequin Delphine–what a beautiful design and colors!

Leave a Reply

