The old kitchen that became a bedroom.

 

It has been quite a few months since our 14-year-old was able to move into his new bedroom that used to be a kitchen and I thought an update was long over due.

The photos aren’t the best but I hope that you’ll be able to see what we’ve done.

The photo below is what the kitchen looked like a year ago.

old pearly jenkins

And this is what it looks like now. I found the old set of drawers on Gumtree.  They sit in the old alcove where the oven used to be.  The old slab of terrazzo has been left as a reminder of what the room once was.

old pearly jenkinsold pearly jenkins

old pearly jenkins20140624_073855

The old possum house (the cupboard at the top) has been sealed off and the old pantry has been cleaned and painted inside and is now a wardrobe.

old pearly jenkinsSAMSUNG

old pearly jenkinsold pearly jenkins

The old back door and ‘dunny’ have gone and replaced with a lovely little study nook.

old pearly jenkinsold pearly jenkins

old pearly jenkinsold pearly jenkins

The study nook is painted using Wattyl – Midnight Seas. It’s a nice contrast to the bedroom which is painted using Dulux – White on white

old pearly jenkinsold pearly jenkins

The table was given to us by our neighbours who were moving out and it was on its way to the dump!!! I stripped it back and painted it yellow.

old pearly jenkinsold pearly jenkins

20140126_180052old pearly jenkins

The desk lamp was a bargain at Target, $35!

I found the fabric for the blinds at Fabric.com. I was looking for something that would suit a teenage boy and not look out-of-place as he grows into a young man.   The fabric  was  $8.47 US per yard.

This is a great price as many of the fabrics that I’d looked at here in Australia were around the $30.00 mark for similar fabrics.  Shipping to Australia was approximately $30.00. We needed quite a few metres for the three windows, yet the total bill (including shipping)  was under $100.00!!!

Just recently, I bought some shelves for the study nook at the Freedom mid year sale.  They were too hard to photograph so I’ve borrowed the image from Freedom’s website!!!

old pearly jenkinsBaker-Storage-Unit-Tall

old pearly jenkins old pearly jenkins

22 thoughts on “The old kitchen that became a bedroom.

  1. bevpeppercorn@gmail.com says:

    The view of the back of the house has changed so much. So much of the garden was hidden by trees.

    • Thank you Mum E!!!!!
      Sadly I didn’t make the blinds, my clever mum did. I did thread the cord through the rings at the back though…….lol .
      Have you started the blinds for your sons room yet?

  2. Cheryl Ellis says:

    Wow it is really transformed from what I saw last. Cant wait to see the rest. Well done guys.

  3. Joanne S says:

    Everything you’ve done has transformed your home so much. Love the table makeover! Isn’t it funny: someone’s trash to your treasure? Love when I can find them. 🙂 So, are you sewing the blind yourself? And, are your possums gone; as in forever? Loved reading about their antics. -Joanne

    • Hi Joanne
      The possums are STILL in the roof!!!!!!
      My lovely mum made the blinds, she’s a clever clogs.
      We were so lucky to get the table, talk about being on the right place at the right time.

  4. quilt32 says:

    Your possums are so much cuter that the variety in the U.S. Ours have long skinny noses and even longer, skinnier tails.

    • Ha ha!! I agree!!!!
      They’re protected here too!!!
      But I didn’t they were very cute a few days ago when I discovered one of them had completely eaten some Italian Parsley that I’m trying to grow. Roots and all!!! I had it protected (or so I thought) under a special ‘wire’ cloche. Little buggers!!!

    • Ha Ha this comment made me laugh out loud!!!
      They’re really quite sweet, I promise.
      Would you have the same reaction if you came upon a mouse or a rat????
      However if it was a large spider in the cupboard, then you would definitely seen me screaming and running into the sunset!!! lol.

    • Thank you. We’re happy with the result. Our son spends a lot of his time in his room. I don’t go in there as much as I’d like. Maybe to let some much needed fresh air in LOL

  5. Really smart, done the make over at good price too. I like the table you painted and converted to a study table, that is pretty cool.

    • Thanks Maria. I wish it was being used as a study table. Its more of a ‘I’ll just dump all the stuff from my school bag’ kind of table at the moment. One day my son might actually use it for what it was intended for.

Leave a Reply

