The Possums.

I know I shouldn’t but I worry about our little furry friends in the roof when the weather is this hot.  Its been in the  mid 30’s celsius (approximately 90 degrees farenheit) and under the corrugated iron roof they must be sweltering.  When we open the cupboard to give them their dinner late in the afternoons they are often  lying spreadeagled on the floor of the cupboard.  Is this their way of keeping cool?  Why do they choose to live in these conditions???

A few weeks ago we decided to put in a little water bottle usually used for rabbits, guinea pigs etc.  It looks like they’re using it too because the water disappears.  I did wonder if the water was dripping out, so I put a little bowl under it to see and so far its remained dry.  I’d really like to put a small fan up there but Mr F, who isn’t that crazy about the whole possum ‘thing’ thinks I’m going a little overboard.  I know he’s right, I just can’t help it.

I took these photos this afternoon when I came home from work.

old pearly jenkins

old pearly jenkins

4 thoughts on “The Possums.

  1. Tammy says:

    I guess ashlynn gets her love for animals from you! She would do the same thing…that’s why we have 4 DOGS and 1 TURTLE!!!!!!

    • It really is, however our youngest son has Autism and an intellectual disability doesn’t find them sweet al ALL!! He is terrified of them and has never ventured into the kitchen when the cupboard is open. He screams everytime they run across the roof, which happens every night.

Leave a Reply

