ebay auction!

Have you ever placed a bid for an item on eBay and forgotten about it only to discover that you’ve won the auction?

Well that’s what happened to me recently.  I saw a painting that I kind of liked and decided to place a bid…. for 99 cents.  It turns out I was the only person to place a bid on the painting and I won!!!

The painting was in New South Wales so freight to Brisbane was $40.00.  I figured if it’s not quite my ‘cup of tea’ I could either relist it or take it to an Op shop.  It arrived a few days before Christmas and I had no idea that it was going to be so HUGE!!!

old pearly jenkinsThe auction description did say that it was 130cm x 170cm but I obviously didn’t  notice the size.  The following picture shows two of my sons standing next to it.

old pearly jenkins

Here is the painting unwrapped.  I can’t find a signature on it but the previous owner said it’s by an artist called Victoria Lobregat .

old pearly jenkins

Mr F wasn’t so sure of it and initially  offered to hang it on the wall in the cupboard under the stairs.  I’m planning on hanging it in the hallway by the front door until I can afford a Wendy Chenoweth.  I like it and Mr F has told me that he’s warming to it.

old pearly jenkins

I know not everyone is going to like it but I’m actually quite happy with this particular eBay experience.

7 thoughts on “ebay auction!

    • Hi D’Arcy
      The packaging was a work of art and did a fantastic job of protecting the painting while it travelled to us from Newcastle to Brisbane. I believe the images are of local landmarks of Newcastle (not that I’ve ever been there). Its been hanging by the front door now for a few weeks and its really grown on us.

Leave a comment