The front porch makeover.

For months now we’ve been working on the front porch.  I spent many hours stripping back the layers of paint so we could have a nice smooth surface to work with.  It’s eventually going to be closed in with Plantation shutters and the front door will go.  But for the meantime we thought we’d use up the left over paint from the bathroom and give the porch a bit of a make over.

old pearly jenkins

old pearly jenkins

old pearly jenkins

old pearly jenkins

old pearly jenkins

My mother added a trim of yellow ‘rick rack’ to the euro pillowcases

old pearly jenkins

I brought at Adairs. And I brought the ‘home’ cushion from Adairs at Indooroopilly. I was tossing up whether to return this cushion as I’m kind of thinking that this decorating style using letters, quotes and words has been ‘done to death’.  I left the tag on the cushion and decided to give it a day or two.

The following day, I walked through the front door after a long day at work and saw the HOME cushion sitting on the sofa and said to myself  ahhhh… home sweet home. So Yes I decided to keep it.

hb1013_cover_nb_192q5oa-192q613old pearly jenkins

In the latest issue of  Home Beautiful I spotted an outdoor rug that I thought would look good on the porch. It’s made from recycled polypropylene.  I was going to order one online but decided on Saturday afternoon to go for a look around the shops at East Brisbane and Wooloongabba and saw the rug for sale at adrift.  It was meant to be.

19 thoughts on “The front porch makeover.

  1. I love the rug too. One of the many things I buy and get rid of just as quickly – too high maintenance!!!! Would it get grubby do you think? Can you just hose it down?

      • Guess what I picked up for my kitchen this week? A PVC rug, haha. Too much of a bargain to let go. On the plus side, I hung it over the kids’ swing set to hose down. It was easy peasy and came up a treat. Let’s see how long it lasts!!

  2. What a difference the paint colour has made! I love it! Nice work by your Mum adding the rick rack to the cushions. I like how it ties in with the rug. I must visit Adrift and have a look at the rugs. 🙂

    • It is an amazing rug! Just before we were about to all run out the door for the day this week, Rose (cat) threw up all over it. A quick hose off, left to dry and it was as good as new by the time we returned home.

  3. Pingback: Old Pearly Jenkins

Leave a Reply

